Select Page

National Policy Statement on Urban Development

Published on the Ministry for the Environment website.

The main objective of this policy statement is to create well-functioning urban environments in New Zealand. Notable policy implications include:

  • Intensification (Policies 1, 2, 4 & 5).
  • Building heights of at least 6 stories in some Tier 1 urban environments (Policy 3).
  • Significant changes to built form are not to be considered an adverse effect (Policy 6).
  • Housing bottom lines (Policy 7).
  • Responsive planning (Policy 8).
  • Collaboration (Policies 9 and 10).
  • No minimum car parking rate requirements (Policy 11).

Tier 1 and 2 local authorities are required to prepare both a Future Development Strategy (FDS) and Housing and Business Development Capacity Assessment (HBA). The Tier 1 and 2 urban environments and local authorities are:

AucklandAuckland Council
HamiltonWaikato Regional Council; Hamilton City Council; Waikato and Waipā District Councils
TaurangaBay of Plenty Regional Council; Tauranga City Council; Western Bay of Plenty District Council
WellingtonWellington Regional Council; Wellington, Porirua, Hutt and Upper Hutt City Councils; Kāpiti Coast District Council
ChristchurchCanterbury Regional Council; Christchurch City Council; Selwyn and Waimakariri District Councils
Tier 1 Councils
WhangāreiNorthland Regional Council; Whangārei District Council
RotoruaBay of Plenty Regional Council; Rotorua District Council
New PlymouthTaranaki Regional Council; New Plymouth District Council
Napier HastingsHawke’s Bay Regional Council; Napier City Council; Hastings District Council
Palmerston NorthManawatū-Whanganui Regional Council; Palmerston North City Council
Nelson TasmanNelson City Council; Tasman District Council
QueenstownOtago Regional Council; Queenstown Lakes District Council
DunedinOtago Regional Council; Dunedin City Council
Tier 2 Councils

Tier 3 local authorities are all other regional councils and territorial authorities not listed.


Posted on